The New WAC Logo

The New WAC

Poised for the Future

TCU moves to the Western Athletic Conference in July, 1996. The New WAC will become the nation's largest major athletic conference, with 16 schools in 9 states.

The WAC men's basketball tournament will be held in March in Las Vegas. The WAC will also have a football title game between the two division winners, which will be held in Las Vegas in December.

When TCU joins the WAC, they will also start competing in women's volleyball, with home games being held on the new parquet wood floors of the Rickel Building.

If your browser doesn't handle tables, go here.

The New WAC

School NicknameLocation
Air ForceFalconsColorado Springs, CO
Brigham Young CougarsProvo, UT
Colorado St. RamsFort Collins, CO
Fresno StateBulldogsFresno, CA
Hawaii Rainbows/WahineHonolulu, HA
UNLVRebelsLas Vegas, NV
New MexicoLobosAlbuquerque, NM
Rice OwlsHouston, TX
San Diego State AztecsSan Diego, CA
San Jose StateSpartansSan Jose, CA
SMUMustangsDallas, TX
TCU Horned FrogsFort Worth, TX
UTEP MinersEl Paso, TX
Tulsa Golden HurricaneTulsa, OK
Utah UtesSalt Lake City, UT
University of Wyoming Cowboys/CowgirlsLaramie, WY

The WAC Home Page

Horned Frog Home Page

WAC Quadrants (football & basketball)

Quadrant One

Quadrant Two

Quadrant Three

Quadrant Four

The WAC Divisions

Football: Beginning with the 1996 football season, the WAC will align in two eight-team divisions. Each division will be formed by combining two quadrants, and those divisions will remain intact for two years to allow for home-and-home scheduling. Thereafter, the quadrants will rotate to form two new divisions for another two-year period.

For the 1996 and 1997 seasons, one division will consist of quadrants one and three and a second division will consist of quadrants two and four. In 1998 and 1999, one division will be made uip of quadrants one and two, while the other division will be a combination of quadrants three and four. In 2000 and 2001, quadrants one and four form a division, as do quadrants two and three.

Eight conference games will be played in each division. Each institution will play the other seven in its division in addition to one crossover game against a member of the other division. Such a scenario provides for four home WAC games and four road WAC games for each institution.

The winners of each division will meet in the WAC Championship Game to be played on the first Saturday in December in Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. The 1996 game is scheduled for December 7 with the winner earning a berth in either the Cotton Bowl or the Holiday Bowl.

Basketball: Similar to football, with a Conference tournament to be held in Las Vegas.

Baseball: Teams will be split into just three divisions. Teams will play their three division opponents six times each year, three times at home and three times on the road. Each team will also play two opponents in each of the other two divisions in a three-game series, either at home or away.

Each school will play 30 league games and has up to 26 non-conference games.
Division I: Rice, TCU, New Mexico and UNLV;
Division II: Air Force, Wyoming, Utah and BYU;
Division III: San Diego State, Hawai'i, Fresno State, and San Jose State. Tournament plans have not been formalized.

The New WAC

School             Nickname             Location
Air Force          Falcons              Colorado Springs, CO
Brigham Young      Cougars              Provo, UT
Colorado State     Rams                 Fort Collins, CO
Fresno State       Bulldogs             Fresno, CA
Hawaii             Rainbows/Wahine      Honolulu, HA
UNLV               Rebels               Las Vegas, NV
New Mexico         Lobos                Albuquerque, NM
Rice               Owls                 Houston, TX
San Diego State    Aztecs               San Diego, CA
San Jose State     Spartans             San Jose, CA
SMU                Mustangs             Dallas, TX
TCU                Horned Frogs         Fort Worth, TX
UTEP               Miners               El Paso, TX
Tulsa              Golden Hurricane     Tulsa, OK
Utah               Utes                 Salt Lake City, UT
Wyoming            Cowboys/Cowgirls     Laramie, WY

Horned Frog Home Page